Hydroxytorowhatdoesthatmeantome?

Hi! And Welcome Back!

The other day I was running on Jones Street in North Liberty and it was particularly windy. I fought the wind and attempted maintain a steady pace, but failed miserably. As I tried to regain what resembled decent form and productive gait, I knew that a better work out would have been achieved by just walking the rest of my route and at least building up a sweat. This however was neither an easy defeat nor an acceptable aerobic alternative for me to accept. You see, some time ago and in some random arena, I was made to believe that walking was embarrassing, and we all should just drive. When and where and why, I have no idea!

I’ve lived in large cities and not owned cars. I’ve lived in small cities and never driven. I LOVE walking and yet somewhere, faced with the potential failure of this run, I reverted back to believing this notion. In my mind, I assumed that the people I passed on my stroll would stare at me walking and think: “Look at him. Walking! What a jerk!”

It’s ridiculous! Yet I’ve been crippled by this notion for years. Therefore, instead of walking along the side of the road — a perfectly practical form of exercise, I decided to run like a fool. I forged on: my shoulders tight, my breathing spastic and my eyes remaining mostly closed to block the wind. “This,” I thought, “This graceful movement which looked like it belonged to someone who had never even heard of forward motion let alone competitive running, was less embarrassing then calmly walking…”

So naturally, choking on the wind and my breath and the idea of what I must look like, I failed to see the giant flying insect that occupied the airspace directly in front of my mouth. When I felt the bug in the back of my throat I initially thought, “Hmm. Spring has sprung.” And then I thought, “Oh my god, there’s a bug in my mouth. I’m gonna throw up!” I gagged and spit and in a matter of moments the wind had taken the contents of my mouth and sprayed it all over my face. I stopped running and stood on the corner. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t verbally express my displeasure with the whole situation. I wiped off my face with the sleeve of my shirt and when I opened my eyes, before me stood a Pug dog. Squat and fat and inquisitive as all Pugs should be, and wearing a bright red cape, which also like his tiny ears, blew freely in the wind. I stared at the magnificent creature and he cocked his head to the right. My jaw dropped slightly and as quickly as he appeared, the beast disappeared into the unknown distance from which he came, feet-a-fury and shiny red cape flapping behind him.

For a moment, I thought of chasing the creature, but some things I knew were better left a mystery. I began my trek home -walking without question- and I asked myself, what does this mean? Is this my spirit animal or does he watch over all of Jones Street? And how am I better for knowing this?

As I pondered my encounter, I thought about all of you. Some time ago, I announced the publication of a study that had just been released in AGE Magazine. Remember?

It was about some new findings on Hydroxytyrosol and it’s effect on cells. About how Hydroxytyrosol, a main component of Olivamine, was proven to extend the life of cells by 20% in a disease free state. Ringing a bell?

You may remember this diagram from an earlier blog.

In my excitement, I relayed the results of the study in scientific terms and in layman’s terms but realized I failed to mention why it might be important to you.

So here we go:

So basically one of the many things that happens when we age is that our cells don’t replicate as well as they did when we were young. And this loss in the ability of cells to replicate results in a lot of the signs of aging and age-related diseases such as Parkinson’s, dementia, and other brain related diseases. (Parkinson’s and dementia are essentially just cell death, and the inability to replace them.)

So if we can make cells live longer, or maintain their ability to replicate, we can potentially stave off or prevent some of these age associated disease.

So now, you must be wondering: Why do cells lose the ability to replicate as they age?

Well, there are many theories on aging. One of the newer ones is the free radical theory, or accumulation of damage. You probably already know a lot about free radicals, without realizing it. We’ve all seen those neutrogena commercials, or juices, touting the “power of antioxidants that protect you from damage.” Well, that damage those antioxidants are protecting you from is caused by free radicals. The accumulation of free radicals in cells over time causes damage which results in the loss of the cells ability to replicate. So, what antioxidants do is remove those free radicals.

Finally, when we talk about removing free radicals from the cells, we say with confidence that when adding the specific dosing of Hydroxytyrosol found in Olivamine to cells, the result is the removal of one million Free Radicals per second per cell. The summation of the article is: Specific dosing of Hydroxytyrosol allows cells to live 20% longer in a disease free state.

This makes Hydroxytyrosol important to you. How are your going to digest and use that information is up to you. Let me know what you decide, and when I figure out what the caped Pug of Jones Street means to me, I’ll let you know…

Leave a Reply

