Pinnaclife Road Trip Day 3: 04/01/2011

Shooting the Chicago Legend at the NPPL tournament in Huntington Beach

We spent a total of five hours at the Hilton in Woodland Hills. Thankfully they had a coffee pot. I discovered something very special about myself in that five hours though, so it was not all a loss. Every time I hear a story about people losing something at a hotel; the frantic calls to the front desk, the accusations against housekeepers and the sincere disappointment felt because he or she was now without their favorite sock or phone charger or precious moments figurine, I think: you idiot. Keep your things in your suitcase and you won’t lose them. Well, as it turns out, I am that idiot. And let me be the first to say: It’s all my fault. As someone who is so naturally horrible at packing for trips, I have a ridiculous suitcase full of clothes that I’ll probably never wear. I opened said suitcase at the Hilton to get my Pinnaclife supplements and sure enough managed to remove all of the contents and spread them throughout the room! Needless to say, it was a choice I made, and now the lost and found box at the Woodland Hills Hilton will be richer (and maybe a little smellier) with one more pair of black socks.

After a period of mourning for my socks, I pulled myself together and headed to PureTek in San Fernando to interview father and son team Barry and Steven Pressman.

PureTek. The manufacturers of Pinnaclife Supplements and remedy skin care products

Barry is a Pharmacist and founded PureTek in the 90’s. He brought two of his sons into the business and has seen a lot of success. Barry stressed that it is very important that everything that comes out of his plant be the best. “It’s a family company.” He said, “I put my name on the line everyday, and I can do that because I believe in what we make.” Steven serves as the Executive VP of PureTek and handles the company’s sales and marketing. Talking with Steven really set the tone for the rest of the day and hopefully the rest of the weekend. In addition to being VP at a very successful company, Steven is also an accomplished athlete. He began his career as a marathon runner and worked incredibly hard to place in huge qualifying races around the country. Later, Steven moved into the arena of Iron Man Triathlons — a feat that is not for the faint of heart to say the least. Steven went on to talk about finding success in your work out; the importance of self accountability and setting goals for yourself. “You’ll fail.” He said, “Often. But learning from your failures and moving past them is how you get better. it’s how you succeed. It’s how you get to be my age and you’re still a top competitor.”

When we finished the interview I asked Steven about a framed picture on the credenza behind his desk. He told me that it was a photo of his mother who had passed away after a long battle with cancer. “She’s my inspiration,” Steven said, “Whenever I thought about giving up because my legs hurt or because I was tired or sore or thirsty or whatever, I would think about her and the battle she went through, and she gave me the strength to keep going.”

So if you’re reading this and it’s been a while since you told your mom that you lover her, maybe just give her a call.

Interview with Steven Pressman

We hit the 405 and pulled up to the Huntington Beach Hilton. Thankfully, the National Professional Paintball League Tournament was just steps from our front door. We checked into what would surely be the best room on or trip, changed into more appropriate clothing and hit the beach.

Dennis Olson is an entrepreneur from Cedar Rapids, Iowa and also an accomplished athlete. On the business side of things, Dennis runs a multi-million dollar company called Vision Performance and deals with direct marketing and sales in Japan. His sales team will be selling our TAY line of beauty products to their clients. Though TAY is still in the production stages, we are very excited about the potential it has. On the athletic side, Dennis leads the Chicago Legend Paintball team. I’d never actually seen a paintball match before so I didn’t know what to expect.

Let me sum it up for you: It’s awesome.

Try to imagine the most intense game of capture the flag you’ve ever played, add giant blow-up obstacles, padded pants and guns that shoot paint. The games are very fast paced and extremely intense. Dennis got us some VIP passes so we were allowed to go behind the scenes and talk to some of the players. Getting the opportunity to meet some of the players gave me a whole new respect for the sport. I’ll be interviewing Dennis tomorrow when he and the Chicago Legend play in the finals.

Dennis Olson
behind the scenes
I had to give it a shot. pun intended.

when you are nice to Hotel employees, you get sweet rooms with awesome views

Sunset at Huntington Beach. A tanker in the distance.

PS It was sixty degrees outside and I overheard a woman telling her husband that “it was freezing.” The end.

One thought on “Pinnaclife Road Trip Day 3: 04/01/2011

  1. Sheila Hanson says:

    Kevin, you should be a writer! Can’t wait for the next post! However, I am ready for your trip to end … I miss my hubby!

    Like

Leave a Reply

