2010 Muscular Dystrophy Association Lock-Up Event

Special Upcoming Event

2010 Iowa City MDA Lock-Up Fundraiser

December 9, 2010

SHE NEEDS YOUR HELP

Dr. McCord is going behind bars for “GOOD”

Please help bail her out!

Your donation is her key to freedom! Be proud of the fact that together we’re providing help and hope to kids and adults served by MDA in our community.

Thanks for making a difference!

For more information on MDA and how you can donate, please visit

2010 MDA Lock-Up Fundraiser

 

This is a letter we received recently regarding Muscular Dystrophy. It is written by Logan Manderfield, who is a six year-old patient diagnosed with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy.

Hello!

My name is Logan Manderfield, and I am 6 years old.  My mommy is writing this letter for me, since I am only in preschool.  I live in Northeast Iowa, on a farm near St. Lucas with my mommy, daddy, and big sister, Reese, who is seven.  I love to ride in the tractor with my daddy when he bales hay (or even when he’s not!), playing with my John Deere tractors, and having fun with my sister.  I to to school at Turkey Valley, where I’ve made some good friends and am learning a lot!

When I was a little over one year old, the doctor diagnosed me with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy.  I wasn’t crawling or walking when I was supposed to, so we went to the doctor and they told us it was DMD.  I don’t know much about it yet, but I know that I have to wear splints on my legs at night to keep my muscles stretched out, and I have to take yucky medicine every morning.  Mommy says the splints and the medicine make me strong so I can keep running fast.

Sometimes Mommy and Daddy get sad when they talk about my illness, but it hasn’t really affected me yet.  I have trouble keeping up with my friends sometimes and I get tired more easily, but most people don’t even notice.  Right now I’m just a normal six-year old.

Some of the people who have helped me and my family since my diagnosis are from the MDA.  We go to the Telethon every year and my family & friends answer phones for people to send donations.  I was even on TV when I was almost 2!  The picture is me with Buck, from the Waterloo Bucks baseball team.  I got to throw the first pitch at a game once because the Bucks were raising money for the MDA!

Buck and Logan

 

My school has even helped raise thousands of dollars for Duchenne research for the MDA!  The MDA helps pay for my splints and my doctor visits, since I go to Iowa City two times a year.  Now that I am 6, I get to go to MDA Summer Camp too!!!  My Mom had a little bit of trouble letting me go away for a whole week thoughJ

My family and I just want to say thanks for all you are doing to help find a cure for my disease.  Someday, I won’t have to worry about muscular dystrophy because of you!

Thank you!

Logan Manderfield

Leave a Reply

